

B40 TIRANA SUMMIT DECLARATION

We, the Mayors of the B40 Balkan Cities Network, representing 25 member cities, assembled at the B40 Tirana Summit between 29-31 January 2024, with the theme of *"Building Urban Resilience and Responding to Crises"*. Acknowledging the challenges and opportunities that urban environments face in an ever-evolving global landscape and recognizing the need for collective action, we hereby declare the following:

We consider the significance of a cohesive organizational structure to strengthen the B40 Balkan Cities Network. In line with this commitment, member cities accept the "Organizational Structure and Working Principles Document," outlining the framework for effective cooperation, communication, and decision-making within the network.

- **The General Assembly** was set up to reflect the vision of participation and local democracy in our region and to prioritize the functioning of our decisions according to the principles of common sense, dialogue, and democracy in the Balkans.
- **The Executive Committee** was established to ensure the continuity of our activities throughout the year and to consolidate the participatory structure of our network. Throughout the year, under the Presidency of the City of Tirana, the Executive Committee is composed of the following members: City of Athens, City of Çanakkale, City of Pristina, City of Sarajevo, City of Skopje, and City of Sofia.
- A new Observer status was introduced to establish bilateral relations with cities outside our region and with international organizations to enhance our network's international interaction.

Understanding the need for strategic cooperation and diplomatic initiatives in the Balkans, we jointly adopt the "B40 City Diplomacy Strategy" document, adding a crucial dimension to our regional scene. This forward-looking approach is instrumental in steering our cities towards a much brighter future in the Balkans, as we focus on fostering international partnerships, sharing best practices and advocating for the interests and well-being of our urban communities on the global stage.



Recognizing the diversity of challenges faced by our cities, we continue to support the studies of the thematic working groups to focus on specific topics. To build resilient cities, we commit to facilitating capacity-building efforts, workshops, and exchanges that empower our city administrations with the skills and knowledge needed to navigate the complexities of urban governance.

We emphasize the importance of fostering collaboration with regional organizations, governments, and stakeholders to enhance the impact of our collective efforts in building urban resilience and responding to crises in the Balkans. This includes developing the capacity of infrastructure that can withstand adversities, adopting sustainable practices, and implementing innovative solutions to mitigate the impact of natural disasters, climate change, and other threats to our cities.

The fourth B40 Balkan Cities Network Summit will be held in Sarajevo in 2025. We are confident that this decision will lead to a successful and productive summit, and we look forward to collaborating with all participating cities to achieve our shared goals.

In witness thereof, we, the undersigned Mayors of the B40 Balkan Cities Network, representing 25 member cities, declare our commitment to this vision of building resilient and healthy cities, and we pledge to implement the aforementioned steps for the betterment of our cities and the well-being of our residents.

Tirana, 30 January 2024

On behalf of the City of Tirana

Erion VELIAJ Mayor of Tirana

On behalf of the City of Istanbul

Ekrem İMAMOĞLU

Mayor of Istanbul

On behalf of the City of Alexandroupolis

Ioannis ZAMPOUKIS Mayor of Alexandroupolis On behalf of the City of Athens

Paris CHARLAFTIS Deputy Mayor of Athens

On behalf of the City of Çanakkale

Mehmet İrfan MUTLUAY Deputy Mayor of Çanakkale

On behalf of the City of Dimitrovgrad

Ivo DIMOV Mayor of Dimitrovgrad

On behalf of the City of Durrës

the low e

Emiriana SAKO Mayor of Durrës On behalf of the City of Izmir

Atilla BAYSAK Municipal Council Member of Izmir

On behalf of the City of Karlovo

Emil KABAIVANOV Mayor of Karlovo

On behalf of the City of Karnobat

Georgi DIMITROV Mayor of Karnobat

On behalf of the City of Nikšić

Marko PERUĆICA Head of Cabinet of Nikšić

On behalf of the City of Orestiada

+4

Adamantios PAPADOPOULOS Mayor of Orestiada

On behalf of the City of Pella

Efstathios FOUNTOUKIDIS Mayor of Pella

On behalf of the City of Prilep

Borche JOVCHESKI Mayor of Prilep

On behalf of the City of Podgorica

iolRa

Olivera INJAC J Mayor of Podgorica

On behalf of the City of Prishtina

Përparim RAMA Mayor of Prishtina

On behalf of the City of Prizren

Shaqir TOTAJ Mayor of Prizren

On behalf of the City of Sarajevo 1

Benjamina KARIĆ Mayor of Sarajevo

On behalf of the City of Skopje

Aleksandar TRAJANOVSKI Deputy Mayor of Skopj

On behalf of the City of Sliven

Stefan RADEV Mayor of Sliven

On behalf of the City of Sofia

Vassil TERZIEV Mayor of Sofia On behalf of the City of Split

mit

Antonia Eremut ERCEG Head of the Department for Development of Split

On behalf of the City of Tekirdağ

Cemal Öğün KÜRÜMOĞLU Head of Press and Publications of Tekirdağ

On behalf of the City of Troyan

Donka MIHAYLOVA Mayor of Troyan

On behalf of the City of Veliko Tarnovo

Daniel PANOV Mayor of Veliko Tarnovo